9 oktober 2023

Akkerman Finland Oy obtains mineral rights for Hallaperä and Rauhala base-metal deposits.

Hallaperä and Rauhala are two known base-metal deposits in the Vihanti-Pyhäsalmi VMS district, Central Finland (for location see Fig.1 below).

Outokumpu Oy discovered the Hallaperä deposit, located 25km east of the Pyhäsalmi mine. It comprises a massive sulphide layer varying between 2 and 18 meters thick and extends over a length of more than 1 kilometer.  Mineralization remains open at depth below 200m.

AFOy’s objective is to test the unknown deeper part of this system.  The initial plan will be to follow-up one of the last holes drilled in 1990 by Outokumpu Oy.  This hole (SL-48) yielded:

1.85 meters @ 1.72 % Cu, 1.7 g/t Au and 44 g/t Ag.

The company holds the Hallaperä deposit through exploration permit ML2022-134, granted in July 2023.  No appeals were filed.

Meanwhile, AFOy registered a new exploration permit application over the Rauhala deposit.  This deposit, discovered in 1985 by the Geological Survey of Finland, is located 40km south of the Vihanti mine. It contains two known lenses. Past drilling outlined a layer of 6m thick estimated to contain a resource of: 

1.7 Mt @ 1.3% Cu, 5% Zn, 1 %Pb, 0.4 g/t Au, 53 g/t Ag.

Akkerman Finland secured mineral rights to the deposit following the ending of a moratorium on the Rauhala Mining Concession previously owned by Pyhäsalmi Mining Oy.  The new exploration permit application has been registered under code ML2023-106.